Curation versus Collecting – a collection of tools

During the WIRED meeting for January 2016, we will look at what it means to curate versus collect resources.  The BlendSpace [QR Code] is full of resources about not only what it means to curate, but also the tools available for FREE to all teachers in order to make this a reality.  Check out our agenda for this PD session as well as for our next HACK during our next month’s session.

Technology Integration

21st Century Super Skills

SAMR Model – reminder that this is merely a tool to help teachers as they begin the journey into technology integration

Beyond SAMR – encourage teachers to join PLN’s

Mashing it up/App Smash! – you can do this as a natural progression or use an app to help you
EdPuzzle – Brian
NearPod – Sam
How used: This activity was used to introduce a new topic and could be used again at the end.
Why effective? Because the children like the immediacy of the results live on the board.
How else use? Revision, starter activity, plenary, quiz, assessment for learning
iMovie – Katherine

Curating Resources
What is it and why should we do it? Curate, Share, and Connect

Old method of Curating [really we were collectors] – belong to blogs and you connected it through some type of RSS feeder

Old method of Sharing – bookmarking did not work, so you used social bookmarking programs like Diigo, Pinterest, or Evernote

Old method of Connecting – sharing within a PLN

 What is the value-added?
Thinking Level
– move beyond mere classification of objects; deeper thinking – evaluation and synthesis; how are the items connected? What does the act of collecting help students understand the question at hand?
Process – inquiry process [think of museum curators]
Organization – beyond themes to something more contextual; themes support a central idea but context allows the curator to determine why something is important and should it be kept or removed

Value – curating you are concerned about a larger audience who needs to benefit from the process and the product

Audience – organized, annotated, and then published; collaborative – audience can be involved, offer comments, and participate

Students as Curators – students construct their own knowledge and hones their skill in information literacy; teachers are designers of the learning scenario where they may be posing the essential question, provide tools for success

 What are the tools?
Blendspace
– allows educators to blend their classroom
introduction
Review
Others
– there are TOO many to list, so here is a Blendspace on the top tools
ScoopIt
EduClipper
Bag the Web
LiveBinders
Themeefy
Been
Bundlr
Evernote
Flipboard
Gooru
Gibbon
Jog the Web
Kuratur
Nextly
Listnerd
Only2Clicks
Padlet
Participate Learning
Pearltrees
Pinterest
RebelMouse
ScissorsFly
Spaaze
Storify
Sqworl
Surfmark
Symbaloo
ThinkLink
Twylah

7 comments

  1. Gooru and Clipix look great for curating images and videos for students to investigate a topic in KS1 – will create one for International Flowers, for our Science topic on plants in 2wks. As a result of my students’ age, I will let them use my login to access the space through a QR Code on their iPADs.

  2. I have mainly been looking at Blendspace and I LOVE IT!!!! It is very user-friendly and it only took me minutes to create a lesson on solving simultaneous equations. It forces me to think about the resources I am providing my students with allowing them by interacting and responding to these resources to discover how to solve simultaneous equations. I have embedded the lesson onto Moodle and will let students use this during the lesson.

    I also want to use it in the future (when I am more used to Blendpspace) to let students become collaborators. Perhaps during a revision lesson/week students can search and critique various resources. The only thing I am worried about is students just putting resources on the page without having a proper look at it and therefore not learning anything from the exercise.Will students actually evaluate each others resources and comment upon them?

    I will definitely introduce Blendspace to the maths department and everybody else I am talking to. I will also like to present this during a staff briefing in the theater in the future.

  3. By sharing a common language of the SAMR Model and the process of curation throughout today’s WIRED in-service, I am better able to understand the process of curating and the use of available tools for education, much more thoroughly. It has been so exciting to explore Blendspace, Nearpod, Edpuzzle, and the application of curating and the SAMR model. By taking today’s learning and applying it to what we had talked about at the whole-school level with affirmation and student engagement, I am very excited to utilize these multiple resources. And ultimately, I am excited to see students utilize them in the synthesis piece of their learning process and to better understand and recognize their own learning process/ facilitate metacognition throughout.

    Furthermore, I can’t wait to share these resources with my English Department!

  4. I have been really impressed with Blendspace and it’s implications for more immersive and child-led learning. I like the way that the whole lesson can be there for the children to use, and that the children can choose the order they carry out each element of the lesson, and how much time they spend on each part.

    I’m particularly excited to try in the classroom using it as a method of disseminating differentiated activities to children without creating “glass ceilings”, and giving children of all abilities and confidence levels the chance to challenge themselves.

  5. I have been looking at Blendspace. I have been able to begin curating homework tasks for our new Year 5 topic: ‘Nile to Niagara’ a comparison of two contrasting locations. I would like to use the platform for students to access paper-free homework tasks. I have already created a pre-learning quiz and then I would like to add a weekly homework task for the children to respond to. Each task will link to the pupil’s learning the next week. In the first week of the topic, the children will be writing descriptively about a Canadian landscape so I have dropped an image of a wild Canadian landscape. Next to the image the children will see their task in response to the picture. I have also used Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy to add a further extension question. Students do not need a password to access the content: just a shared link. For subsequent tasks I can include various content: videos, websites etc.

  6. Today I learnt some new terminology (PLN, APP SMASH and Curation). I realised that I am part of more PLN’s than I realised!
    I spent some time trying to think of practical ways that I could use the SAMR model to redefine my lessons.
    I loved the look and ease of use of Blendspace. I am going to experiment with it for the next English scheme of work and will show with CN via the next LDD dept meeting,

Leave a Reply

