HACK Dec. 13-17

This week the WIRED Teachers group are exploring how to use some trending applications like EduCanon or EdPuzzle. HACK groups may also wish to explore more thoroughly how to use multiple overlays on a trigger image in Aurasma to create a more interactive Aura.  Check out the tutorials that are available online and when you blog, please categorize your response based upon the application you worked on.  We are also wanting to hear about how you are using them in your classroom. WIRED and inspired!

Interactive Auras
EdPuzzle Tutorial – make video an interactive learning experience; you can even add audio
EduCanon Tutorial – Allows you to import video, trim it, add questions, comments, etc; similar to EdPuzzle – compare and tell us what you think!

7 comments

  1. Sam and I explored the Aurasma app. We enjoyed some of the examples. They really are amazing and I think the students would be excited to see their wall displays etc come to life in this way. We also discussed with DB how we could use existing books from our subjects and bring them to life using images from the texts as triggers. This is great as we don’t need to buy anything new! QR codes are better for when you want them to access content for longer, but Aurasma is great for impact.

    We also took a look at EduCanon and EduPuzzle. They are similar apps which allow us to create interactive videos. We learnt that the best video clips are seven minutes or less to maintain student attention. We liked that EduPuzzle is really instinctive and quick to set up- just sign in via your Google account or Edmodo login. It helps you find quickly videos that you may like to use linked to topics you are teaching. You then easily crop the video to what you need. You can add a voice over (though may need a microphone, as we found the laptop didn’t pick up clearly our voices). You then can add questions for the students to interact with. Another built in feature is class analysis of their interaction with your video content…but we didn’t get that far yet. Sam used a clip from the film Gravity as he is teaching space and I used a clip from a tv dramatised version of a book we are reading in class.

    Finally, we also quickly shared http://www.freerice.com as a great game to play in class.

  2. From Monday hack…

    JT, CN and I looked more closely at Aurasma. JT discovered that within the Aurasma app there are already 3D animations and sounds that you can choose from and use. These are great. I was able to add a Roman Centurion fighting to the trigger of the Aquila text that my class are studying.

    To be able to see each others auras we need to follow each others ‘channels’. I am jenteachermes. CT is norman718. JT is jonathantodd. DB is dodieballard.

    We found that there is a difference between the app and the PC interface. Its not always easy and clear to find things and use, so DB has sent an email to the Aurasma creators giving feedback. For example, it is easier to create an aura on the PC, but you can only add the 3D aspects in the app.

  3. We have entered a ticket into Aurasma and they responded within a few hours. Because they made additional modifications and enhancements to the mobile application [which includes some really cool stock 3D animations among other things] that are not available in the Studio, there is not a whole lot of sharing that can take place. Once the update the Studio, you will be able to. However, if your mobile application and the Studio are operating on the same channel you can use the mobile component to see any of your Auras. Maybe not the answer we wanted, but the answer we have been given until the updates and enhancements are complete on both sides.

  4. Ever since I was introduced with Aurasma (during the Dragonfly CPD Oct 2014) I have been a big fan of it and I see the educational value of it. I wanted to make videos solving/explaining textbook-questions and use them as an overlay. Students could then listen to my explanation at home when they hoover over the question. The problem I discovered last year was that the length of the video for the overlay was quite restricted and therefore I could not use it.

    Now Aurasma has many more options. Jenny showed me the 3D animations which are really cool and engaging to students. I would like to know how to make those animations myself rather than using the animations provided by Aurasma. Apparently that is not possible yet but I hope that in the near future it will be easier for teachers to make their own animations.

  5. Over the last week I have been experimenting with EdPuzzle and EduCanon. These are both tools which can be used to create your own flipped classroom. I preferred Edpuzzle for I found it to be more user friendly.

    What I like about Edpuzzle is that I can add questions (open ended and multiple choice) to the video. I can also see whether students saw my video and for how long. Especially this will come in very handy when I start using it. Currently I provide students with QR codes to videos I want them to see as preparation to a particular lesson but I can never check whether they have actually done it. Edpuzzle gives me the opportunity to check whether students have done their homework (check my video) so I will definitely start using it after Christmas in my Year 9 and 10 classes.

    Thank you Wired Teachers for introduction me to EdPuzzle!!

  6. Just discovered something very cool today when exploring EdPuzzle… https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse

    It’s called Crash Course and it is short animated videos offering a ‘crash course’ into different topics.

    I’ve discovered videos for all kinds of texts e.g. Romeo and Juliet and all kinds of subjects e.g. Science, Humanities etc.

    Could be very useful and we can use them in combination with EdPuzzle to make them interactive…adding questions and so on to engage the students.

  7. I edited a video to use as a hook to get my children writing with suspense. I used EdPuzzle to download a short clip of the film ‘Gravity’ which I then edited for my needs. I recorded an introduction to the video, I inserted questions to make the video less passive and got the children to answer on whiteboards. I created open questions but also multiple-choice questions. I will definitely be using EdPuzzle again because it’s so easy to use and can help you make videos more interactive as well challenge the children to watch carefully.

Leave a Reply

